We Are Family


 (Photo credit: Tracy Kaye Photography. Paintings by Syrian refugee children)

Through a God guided set of circumstances and connections, Tracy and I are privileged to be able to interview four Syrian families tomorrow for a video we are putting together. In our discussions about the project, Evan has asked many questions. Always, I try to answer as honestly as I can without going into unnecessary detail. In his own astute way, Little Wonder has absorbed the innuendo and essence of the refugee crisis. 

I know this because during our evening prayers tonight, tears came to his eyes and he looked at me with a sense of urgency and earnestness: “I want to pray the best prayer ever, Mama,” he cried.

Then, with tears streaming down his cheeks he began, “Dear God, I just pray for the Syrians tonight for the families who have had people die and even children die, and God please please please help the good team win over the bad teams who have hurt and killed people. And keep the Syrians safe God. And help them be able to fight back against the bad teams. Amen.”

Up until Evan’s prayer, I had struggled with the writing prompt for NaPoWriMo 2016 today. I was supposed to write a poem that takes the form of a family portrait, and I was searching for what angle and voice to give to the poem. I think in the process of writing, I started and stopped it at least ten times.

After Evan’s prayer I realized why. Evan is so tender hearted and fully embracing of all people. He doesn’t see lines of division. Instead, he sees us as all connected. He sees us as one big family.

The poem wrote itself after that realization. Here it is…

family portait

we are family.

affiliation by consanguinity is only one definition of family.

family is an affinity by kinship however people choose to form that unit.

and seeing family love in action alwaysalwaysalways changes the face of the world for the better. 

so often, we look at other families and perceive the differences even as we distance ourselves because of those differences.

when we get close–really, really close–the lines of difference become blurred, and we no longer see eye color and skin color and race and religion.

instead we weep with those in pain and rejoice with those in celebration.

we are family after all.

we are connected to one another in ways large and small, by blood, yes, but even more so by the kindred spirit of God who flows through our veins.

we are family.

like all families, we hunger for love, we long for acceptance, we desire respect, and we wish our stories to be told to future generations.

we are family.

all we need to do is open our hearts and listen to our common, beating heart.

About cjpjordan

A poet, a writer, an artist, a thinker, a musician and occasionally a skeptic, when I'm not teaching or traveling, I love to read and write and play the ukelele. I'm loving life with my Little Wonder--his energy and joy for life is contagious. He makes me believe and hope again. I don't want to forget these moments that pass so quickly so I have decided to write them down for posterity and for you to enjoy.
This entry was posted in On Faith, Social Justice and Equality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Are Family

  1. Annelea says:

    Lovely Carla!!

Leave a Reply

