The Grace of Grandmas

 It is as grandmothers that our mothers come into the fullness of their grace.      –Christopher Morley

My poor mom has been suffering with sickness since Christmas day. She is still too sick to go out, so we have been bringing her food and groceries as needed. But because of her sickness, Ev hasn’t seen her. 

He started saying lately how much he missed his grammy, sometimes with tears in his eyes. His impassioned and tearful pleas moved me to action. In spite of my own recovery from pneumonia and general exhaustion from teaching full time, we planned to stop in and visit mumsie today after school and a hair cut.  

Not being 100% myself, I was almost too wiped out to go after the hair cut, but on the way home Evan said, “I know you are exhausted mom and want to just go home and rest, but I’m sorry I cannot have it. I need to see my grammy. I miss her so much that we need to go see her no matter what. That’s just how I roll.” 

Needless to say, Ev and I went to visit “his grammy”. My little mumsie was so delighted. Evan entertained her by “playing the piano” and eating everything she put out for him.  He told stories, and she laughed in all the right places. He threw his arms around her neck and told her how much he missed her and how he loved her with all his heart. She told him how there is no one to give her hugs these days and his hugs are the best in the world. I just sat on the sidelines in wonder of the sparks flying between them.

Those two have always shared a unique connection. 

And for a little while when I was watching the two of them together, I forgot all about my exhaustion and coughing. The love shared by grandma and grandson was the magic cure. 

     
 

Grandma always made you feel she had been waiting to see just you all day and now the day was complete. –Marcy DeMaree

About cjpjordan

A poet, a writer, an artist, a thinker, a musician and occasionally a skeptic, when I'm not teaching or traveling, I love to read and write and play the ukelele. I'm loving life with my Little Wonder--his energy and joy for life is contagious. He makes me believe and hope again. I don't want to forget these moments that pass so quickly so I have decided to write them down for posterity and for you to enjoy.
This entry was posted in Food and Love, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Grace of Grandmas

  1. Linda Nikitin says:

    Tuesday January 12, 2016
    Carla, Thank You for this special Grammy post!!
    Thankful to Jesus that you and your Mom are on the mend!!
    Love and Prayers,
    Linda Nikitin

Leave a Reply

