The Gateway of Gratitide

Every day Ev and I begin our day with “Yay God!” I start off with something like ” Yay God for the rain because now the grass is so green!” Ev follows with “Yay God for the beautiful leaves in the trees!” And so on. When we begin to slow down, I usually end it with “Let your God Light shine today!” 

This morning at the end of our usual exchange Evan piped up, “Yay God that next week mom will be letting her Light shine at my school!” 

Yay God indeed. 

wasn’t looking for a new job. I wasn’t planning on leaving. But God opened the door at Ev’s school; I couldn’t help but walk through it. Beginning on Monday, I will be teaching two blocks from home in the same school where Little Wonder attends. In so many ways, it is perfect, and yet, a piece of my heart will always be at BHA.

Today was my last day at BHA, and I was feeling weepy before I even turned into the parking lot. What a privilege to have worked with such a fine team of colleagues, such a warm and a welcoming student body and such a supportive group of parents! The friendships made and the lessons learned I will carry with me for the rest of my life.

In the true hospitality of the school, my colleagues not only brought in breakfast for my last day, but also made the most beautiful vegetarian luncheon. Delicious to body and soul! 

Classes sang to me in the lunchroom and made special visits to my classroom. Kids brought me handmade cards and gifts. The middle school students created a video. Colleagues gave hugs and well wishes and cards and gifts. 

I cried.

A lot.

And then I cried some more.

One of my middle school girls who had been difficult in class last year gave me a big hug and said, “Oh Mrs. Jordan I’m sorry for any hard time I ever gave you. I didn’t mean it. You always believed in me. Don’t go.”

Another matter of factly told me, “You still have time to change your mind and make the right decision to stay with us.”

One of my darling five year olds told me her first tooth was wiggly and then proceeded to throw her arms around my neck and cry, “I’m gonna be missing you!!!”

And then there were the teachers…

Honestly, I could not imagine a lovelier group of teachers and teaching assistants. I am so grateful for their warm and immediate acceptance of me. This introvert was never so surprised as she was by the depth of her connections at BHA.

icouldneverimagine
unimaginable friendships
(those unlikely alliances)
happen unintentionally–
when we are not searching
the spark of connection ignites.
now icouldneverimagine
life without you.

 I am so very grateful for the past year and all the wonderful people at BHA.  I am also grateful for this new opportunity and for the possibilities it offers. 

Yay God for change.

Yay God for new friendships.

Yay God for His Light.

“Piglet noticed that even though he had a Very Small Heart, it could hold a rather large amount of Gratitude.” –Winnie-the-Pooh

About cjpjordan

A poet, a writer, an artist, a thinker, a musician and occasionally a skeptic, when I'm not teaching or traveling, I love to read and write and play the ukelele. I'm loving life with my Little Wonder--his energy and joy for life is contagious. He makes me believe and hope again. I don't want to forget these moments that pass so quickly so I have decided to write them down for posterity and for you to enjoy.
This entry was posted in Food and Love, Schooling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

