A Triple Shot of Wonder

“To see a world in a grain of sand
And a Heaven in a wild flower
Hold infinity in the palm of your hand
And Eternity in an hour.
–William Blake

I told the woman at the coffee shop it was my baby’s last day of kindergarten. She told me that in a week it would be her baby’s last day of high school, and so we commiserated together. I asked her to hook me up with something–anything at all as long as it was nondairy–and she gave me a triple shot in the medium size (responsible drinking I guess). So now I’m drowning my sorrows in triple shots of espresso and steamed soy milk. 

 Where does the time go?

I walked him into school today, unable to drop him off as usual. Somehow I felt walking him in would stretch out the time. We waited for his teacher a bit so I could immortalize the moment with a photo. Of course, Mrs. Scott (aka Sainted Woman) was happy to oblige. Evan hasn’t been the easiest of students, but he has been one of the most delightful and bright. I know this because she has told me often how remarkable he is for his age.

Even as she is handing me his paperwork Mrs. Scott tells me, “You need to show his next teacher this. She won’t understand how bright he is if you don’t show her. She needs to know he has a photographic memory. One time. He only needs to see something one time…” Her voice drifts off. 

 She leans down and asks him, “Evan, how do you feel about this being your last day of kindergarten?”

Evan begins, “I feel…” and then he motions with his hand, waving it back and forth in the air, “Eh…”

“What does that mean exactly?” Mrs. Scott asks.

“It means I feel kind of good and kind of bad at the same time.”

“Well, what’s good about it being your last day of kindergarten?”

He looks at her and seems surprised that she would ask the obvious, “It’s the last day of school, of course.”

“Of course,” replies Mrs. Scott with a smile, “and why do you feel bad?”

“Well,” he pauses as he collects his thoughts, “I’ll miss being in kindergarten.”

“Me, too!” She agrees.

Then Mrs. Scott looks up at me and says, “Most kids his age wouldn’t say that, you know. They wouldn’t be able to articulate their feelings so precisely. You do realize this, right?”

Do I realize this?

My name for him has always been Little Wonder. From the first moment I laid eyes on him, he has not ceased to astonish me. I can’t get over how he remembers absolutely everything about everything. I can’t get over how he lights up my world with just his smile. I can’t get over how he reads words like deserving and dastardly. 

 I can’t get over the amazing person my Little Wonder is becoming, even though sometimes he makes me want to poke both eyes out (his) and sew lips together (his) so I can enjoy a moment of silence. (***true story…see note below)

So here I am, drinking away my sorrows and blogging to remember the moment.

Ah Little Wonder… You have forever changed me. 

 Image used with permission by Tracy Kaye Photography. Her website is almost up and running, but in the meantime, contact her at tracykayephoto@gmail.com for all your photography needs. 

***Do not worry: no animals or children were harmed in the writing of this piece. I have chosen instead to invest in a good set of ear plugs and build quiet “rest and read time” into every day. 😊

About cjpjordan

A poet, a writer, an artist, a thinker, a musician and occasionally a skeptic, when I'm not teaching or traveling, I love to read and write and play the ukelele. I'm loving life with my Little Wonder--his energy and joy for life is contagious. He makes me believe and hope again. I don't want to forget these moments that pass so quickly so I have decided to write them down for posterity and for you to enjoy.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Schooling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Triple Shot of Wonder

  1. Lovely post Carla. I miss your regular updates on the Little Wonder.

Leave a Reply

