On Creating New Vocabulary

“Be happy in the moment, that’s enough. Each moment is all we need, not more.” ― Mother Teresa

IMG_2758.JPGWhy is it I always find myself in the midst of busyness? Even on vacation sometimes I find myself rushing to pack up or to make dinner or to hurry to the beach. I mean isn’t just the phrase “hurry to the beach” an oxymoron?

I have an app that reminds me to look at my list which is in another app. I set my phone’s alarm for first AND second alerts just in case I forget or miss the first one.

I tell the kids frequently, “Today my lists have lists.”

I’m fact, I derive so much pleasure from crossing things off my list that if I do something not on the list, I will add it just so I can cross it off. Plus, at the end of the day, it looks like I’ve accomplished more. To whom, I’m not quite sure, but somehow in order to feel good about myself I feel I must DO something.

But who is really watching? And who really cares if I overcommit myself?

Well I learned today that my Little Wonder is always watching. Always.

This morning I asked Ev the same question I ask him every morning: “What did you dream about, Ev?”

“Well, last night I dreamed about rainbows and God.”

“Oooooooh rainbows and God are my favorite kinds of dreams! Rainbows remind me that today is a new day. A fresh start.”

Sighing heavily, Ev replied with a tone of exhaustion, “Well, personally I have 124 things to do today.”

“Oh really? Like what?” I tried to cover the smile lurking at the corners of my mouth.

“Well,” Ev started very seriously, “Lila has to teach me the monkey bars and the swings. Then I have to come home and do work in the back yard…you know, like working on my swinging skills and stuff. I have a tough job, you know.”

Some days Ev is in a desperate hurry to grow up and “be big”. He has a tough job to grow up and accomplish all the things he thinks are important.

In writing about my son Ryan for his birthday, I came across this quote from the wise Henry David Thoreau who asks the question: “Why should we live with such hurry and waste of life…We are determined to be starved before we are hungry. Men say that a stitch in time saves nine, and so they take a thousand stitches today to save nine tomorrow…..when we are unhurried and wise, we perceive that only great and worthy things have any permanent and absolute existence, that petty pleasures are but the shadow of reality.”

Why indeed.

Why do I waste my life rushing around in a desperate haste to… To what exactly? For what exactly?

The pull to rush is great. So great that I have to intentionally pull back on the reins. I have to stop and remind myself to take a deep breath.

I look around me. I look at Ev. I think about this one moment I will never have the chance to live again. Lists are good and have their place, but they should never take the place of enjoying each moment to the fullest.

I want to teach Ev–and Ryan, Aaron, Allison and Lizi–that today is enough. I want them to see in me the truth that busyness is not the goal in life.

This moment is enough.

I want them to breathe in and know that in this moment, breathing is enough.

I will not rush through this day. In fact, today I will not make a to do list. I will live with my eyes and ears open to whomever God brings across my path. I will look at Ev and tell him to not worry about the 124 things he thinks he needs to accomplish today and not to worry about swinging skills or about anything else.

Today there are two words for the day: unbusy and unhurry.

I exist as I am, that is enough,
If no other in the world be aware I sit content,
And if each and all be aware I sit content.
One world is aware, and by the far the largest to me, and that is myself,
And whether I come to my own today or in ten thousand or ten million years,
I can cheerfully take it now, or with equal cheerfulness, I can wait. –Walt Whitman

About cjpjordan

A poet, a writer, an artist, a thinker, a musician and occasionally a skeptic, when I'm not teaching or traveling, I love to read and write and play the ukelele. I'm loving life with my Little Wonder--his energy and joy for life is contagious. He makes me believe and hope again. I don't want to forget these moments that pass so quickly so I have decided to write them down for posterity and for you to enjoy.
This entry was posted in On Faith, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Creating New Vocabulary

  1. I just love your blogs!! I have only learnt and still am learning about the unhurried life lived in the NOW in the last 4-5 years of my life! I am enjoying it and just LOVE living this way.

Leave a Reply

