Helovesme Helovesmemore

20140806-213758.jpg

I was reading through the notes on my phone and came across a couple little gems I had written down so as not to forget them. I can’t remember if I posted them or not.

The whole gist of the first conversation reminded me of unconditional love. I don’t think anyone loves more purely and completely than a child does with his parents.

No matter what I do or how I think I’ve made an utter mess of this parenting gig, Ev comes back with love.

Pure love.

Adoration even.

Here’s what happened: the other day Ev came to me very seriously and said, “I have a very important question to ask you, Mama.”

Then, he very seriously took my hand, slid a plastic ring on my finger and asked, “Mama, would you marry me when I grow up?”

My heart melted.

A couple I weeks later, I wrote down anther random conversation. While driving, the Little Wonder was in the back seat and heard Trace and I discussing the Blissfest music festival coming up.

In the conversation we were discussing whether or not Ev would like to attend it.

“Personally, I don’t see why we can’t just take the little guy with us,” I said quite casually.

A voice from the back seat piped up: “Mom I’m NOT little. I’m a big guy.”

Oops. I knew I had crossed a line and offended Ev with my comment.

“You’re right, Love. Sometimes I’m not careful with my words, and I forget. Please forgive me.”

Ev countered: “Yeah, ya do forget, mom, but it’s ok. I Iove you just the way you are.”

Thank goodness for that!

20140806-213904.jpg
Every day, Ev heals my soul, mending all the cracks and fissures I’ve tried to ignore. He smooths over the painful rough edges with his joy of life. Every day, Ev teaches me something new about unconditional love and kindness. Every day Ev teaches me something about the heart of God.

Wess Stafford, President, Compassion International has stated, “Every child you encounter is a divine appointment.”

On the outside it may seem like Evan was an addendum or a mistake, but there is no mistaking how much I didn’t even know I needed him. In the depths of my heart, I know for sure and for certain the arrival of Ev was a divine appointment for me. And not only his arrival, but each and every day since then.

My reality is simple: I see God in those pools of blue eyes every single day.

“Children are the hands by which we take hold of heaven.”
–Henry Ward Beecher

About cjpjordan

A poet, a writer, an artist, a thinker, a musician and occasionally a skeptic, when I'm not teaching or traveling, I love to read and write and play the ukelele. I'm loving life with my Little Wonder--his energy and joy for life is contagious. He makes me believe and hope again. I don't want to forget these moments that pass so quickly so I have decided to write them down for posterity and for you to enjoy.
This entry was posted in Food and Love, Funny Stories, On Faith, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Helovesme Helovesmemore

Leave a Reply

