No Worries

“Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow, it empties today of its strength.” –Corrie ten Boom

In the middle of a busy day, Evan suddenly paused and got my attention: “Mom, stop for a second. I need to pray for something right now.”

There was an urgency to his tone and a real sincerity about his demeanor. Needless to say, I stopped.

“Ok Ev. Go ahead. I’ll pray with you.”

Ev leaned up against the kitchen island, folded his hands and with a fervent look, bowed his head on his hands.

Then he began to talk to God.

And let me tell you, that child can talk to God in the most natural and familiar way. I find it refreshing and inspiring all at once.

Ev prayed, “Thank you that you created this big, amazing universe, God. I need to talk to you about something. When I was at a baseball game, I found this feather, Lord–a feather from a bird. I wanna pray about it because maybe the bird must have died or something. I’m very worried. Please take care of it for me and for the momma bird who might be missing her baby. Thank you Lord. Amen.”

When he was finished, Ev looked up at me from his folded hands and smiled.

“No worries, Mom. God’s got this,”

Little did Ev know in that moment how much his mama needed to hear those words. In the midst of planning a high school graduation open house, getting my daughter packed up for a year away overseas, returning from a six day visit to my son and daughter in law in Spokane for my son’s college graduation, I often find myself awake at night and unable to sleep. I often find myself lost in worry.

Enter Ev and his childlike trust and wisdom.

Through Ev’s prayer, I heard the voice of God speaking directly to me, “Relax. No worries Carla. I’ve got this.”

Ok then. I think I’ll rest right there.

“Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.” –Jesus

20140531-024800.jpg

About cjpjordan

A poet, a writer, an artist, a thinker, a musician and occasionally a skeptic, when I'm not teaching or traveling, I love to read and write and play the ukelele. I'm loving life with my Little Wonder--his energy and joy for life is contagious. He makes me believe and hope again. I don't want to forget these moments that pass so quickly so I have decided to write them down for posterity and for you to enjoy.
This entry was posted in On Faith, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Worries

  1. Lisa Davis says:

    We all need to hear those words. You sure do have a lot of big things going on in life right now. Evan is a man of great wisdom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

