Pass the Goodness and Grace, Please

It’s hard to find yummy sweet treats that fit with Ev’s gluten free diet.

While I prepare most meals from scratch on a regular basis (see http://www.wholefoodventure.com for a new food blog I just started with my girlfriend). I usually like to adhere to a fairly strict no bake rule for breakfast–yogurt, toast with peanut butter, oatmeal in the microwave, etc. are the fancy feast choices.

On a school day, I rarely make French toast or pancakes.

This morning, however, Ev saw a cinnamon roll left over from a non gluten free breakfast on the counter, and he wanted his own gluten free cinnamon roll. Of course, there was no way I was making him cinnamon rolls on a school morning.

Instead, I offered him one of my creative almostasgoodas specials–gluten free French toast sticks–as a alternative.

To make the gluten free French toast sticks, I start with (surprise, surprise) gluten free bread. I toast it, butter it, and top it with cinnamon sugar. Then I slice it in finger-like sticks. If I have it on hand, I will make a glaze from powdered sugar and rice milk to drizzle over the top.

The drizzle is Ev’s favorite.

“Mama, do you have the stuff to make the frostin?” I can see he’s hopeful. So. Very. Hopeful.

“Let me see…” I fished through the pantry and saw the bag of powdered sugar.

“Ta-da” I pulled out the purple package with a smile.

Ev watched with delight as I mixed in the rice milk and made a glaze. He stirred it quite vigorously and then “helped” me drizzle it over the sticks.

20140303-232706.jpg

At the first bite, his eyes rolled back into his head.

“Oh Mama. This so delicious!”

“You’re a mother of goodness…..and grace.”

“Yep,” he added liking the way that sounded to his ears, “you’re a mother of goodness and grace.”

20140303-232525.jpg

As I’m reflecting on this after a long, hard day when the tiredness has seeped into my bones, I think I’ll take it.

A mother of goodness and grace.

More often than not, I have come into mothering with only my brokenness and found myself put back together by the goodness of grace time and time again.

So….

Skip the French toast sticks and pass me some more of that goodness and grace, please.

About cjpjordan

A poet, a writer, an artist, a thinker, a musician and occasionally a skeptic, when I'm not teaching or traveling, I love to read and write and play the ukelele. I'm loving life with my Little Wonder--his energy and joy for life is contagious. He makes me believe and hope again. I don't want to forget these moments that pass so quickly so I have decided to write them down for posterity and for you to enjoy.
This entry was posted in Food and Love, Funny Stories, On Faith, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pass the Goodness and Grace, Please

  1. I love this; I think most moms are put together and held together with goodness and grace. It takes a whole lot of goodness and grace to raise a child 😉

Leave a Reply

