One Wild And Precious Life

Some of the most memorable times I’ve enjoyed as a mother have been during precious one on one time with the kids. Of course when my family was young and growing, one on one time was a rare treasure. But these days with only the Little Mister and a nearly 18 year old at home, I often share one on one time with one or the other. Our conversations range from engaging to inspiring to downright hilarious.

20131013-172814.jpg
This afternoon, I dropped Lizi off at the outdoor mall (what a great day for it) and headed back home with Ev in tow.

“So Mama, what’s the plan of action this afternoon?” He asked using one of my favorite expressions.

I caught his eye in my rear view mirror in order to gauge his reaction when I replied, “Well, I think we”ll head back home and take a nice little nap.”

(It’s Sunday, after all, a working day for me, and this mama was tired.)

“Ok.” He answered amicably, “and then what?”

“Then I think we’ll go back and pick up Lu from the mall.”

“And then what?”

“Maybe we’ll go for a walk and collect leaves.”

“And then what?”

“Ooh, we could come in for hot chocolate.”

“Yum. And then what?”

“We could finish watching the rest of ‘Up’.”

“And then what?”

I felt this process might last indefinitely, so I decided to throw him a curve ball.

“Then we will all go crazy.”

“Ok.” He answered without so much as a blink. “And then what?”

Finally, I asked him what he thought we should do next, and he had quite the response.

“Well Mama, I think we should go see Ryan in Chicago and then Aaron and Allison in Spokane cause I miss them so much in the whole world. Then we could go see my grandma and grandpa who aren’t in heaven and visit for a while. After all that visitin’, we can come back home and take a nap. Yes. We should do this first cause I’m not tired now at all and don’t need a nap yet.”

All this was said in one great big long sentence, without a pause or rest between the words. The Little Mister knew exactly what he wanted: he wanted family time.

“And what about my idea of going home and napping now?”

“Thanks mom, but nah. I like my idea so much better. We need to see the people we love Mama cause,” he paused for a moment searching for the right words, “well, cause we love them.”

Check mate.

Can’t argue with that logic.

“Well, Ev, our family lives very far away which makes it impossible to do this all in one day, but I think you make a very good point. We DO need to see family. Do you miss your brothers?”

Ev suddenly got a very serious look on his face and his eyes welled up with tears, “I do, Mama. I really really do.”

Seeing his sincere love for his siblings, I was touched in the very core of the core of my motherheart.

“I think it might be time to plan a little trip then. Or maybe gather everyone home for the holidays,” I mused out loud.

“Yes! Yesyesyes, Mama! Let’s do it!!!”

I looked back, saw the hopeful light in his little eyes and knew it was time to figure out a way to make this happen for Ev.

Sweet Ev who binds us together with his unconditional love and reminds us how to live life to the fullest each and every moment.

20131013-171717.jpg

About cjpjordan

A poet, a writer, an artist, a thinker, a musician and occasionally a skeptic, when I'm not teaching or traveling, I love to read and write and play the ukelele. I'm loving life with my Little Wonder--his energy and joy for life is contagious. He makes me believe and hope again. I don't want to forget these moments that pass so quickly so I have decided to write them down for posterity and for you to enjoy.
This entry was posted in Funny Stories, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Wild And Precious Life

  1. Christine says:

    What a doll. Hugs to your little man.

Leave a Reply

