No Soup For You

20130822-194946.jpg

The humidity has been brutal lately, and even I who am a huge fan of non-air conditioned space have put that canned cold on and loved it. But on a day like today, when there is the hint of a cool breeze, the windows go down and the hair gets tousled.

Because Ev’s remaining front tooth is turning dark, I decided we should probably go to the dentist and have it checked out. Lizi has always loved the dentist so she told Ev all about the office, the kind ladies, the sweet dentist, the treasure box…

She had Ev so excited, he was looking forward to the dentist like some kids look forward to an amusement park. Shoot, after her glowing description, I was thinking about scheduling that root canal I’ve been putting off. (Ok, maybe not THAT, but I at least let the thought enter my mind.)

My morning was full with a hair appointment and a few hours in the office so we hit a drive through for lunch. Ev can’t eat solid foods yet, so today we chose Wendy’s for their chili. He loves that chili–full of beans and veggies; he scarfed down the whole bowl.

Our errands done, dentist visited (just need to keep an eye on the other front tooth), prizes successfully chosen, Ev and I make our way home–windows down, music blaring–we are singing and happy as can be. Fresh air. Full bellies. Fun destinations.

Wait. Fresh air? What was that AWFUL stench? I look around. Not a diesel car, hard boiled eggs or a sulfur factory in sight.

Eyeing my back seat passenger in the rear view mirror, I have my suspicions as to the source: “Oh man! It smells rotten in here! Evan, did you toot?”

“Nope.” Ev replies, a small smirk playing at the corner of his mouth.

Inhaling again deeply (why I felt the need to punish my olfactory senses in this way I don’t know): “Pee-uw! You did, too. I can smell it!”

Snorting and laughing now, Ev’s eyes are twinkling as he looks around the car and stops when he sees the open windows. “Nope. Ya’ cant. The windows are open and the air takes away the smell.”

“Fat chance, pal,” and in my best “Soup Nazi voice” (think old Seinfeld episode): “No soup for you!”

Suddenly serious, Ev replies: “But I love soup, Mama.”

About cjpjordan

A poet, a writer, an artist, a thinker, a musician and occasionally a skeptic, when I'm not teaching or traveling, I love to read and write and play the ukelele. I'm loving life with my Little Wonder--his energy and joy for life is contagious. He makes me believe and hope again. I don't want to forget these moments that pass so quickly so I have decided to write them down for posterity and for you to enjoy.
This entry was posted in Food and Love, Funny Stories, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No Soup For You

  1. Janie Sherry says:

    Laughing Right Out Loud again! Precious came out to see what was up!! 😀

  2. Pingback: URL

  3. Pingback: I Still Have A Dream: In Memory of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. | Bits of wisdom from my little wonder…

Leave a Reply

