Conversations With God

“Prayer is not asking. It is a longing of the soul. It is daily admission of one’s weakness. It is better in prayer to have a heart without words than words without a heart.” ― Mahatma Gandhi

Sometimes life is hard when you’re four. I try to understand this and extend grace as needed. However, a few things I won’t tolerate from any age child. That’s why one of the things we are working on very hard is the idea that it is rarely necessary to raise one’s voice to anyone including (or perhaps especially) one’s mother.

After reminding Ev about respect and the proper voice to use with me, he hollered at me again. Very calmly and without a word, I set him on the time out stair.

He knew. He was silent.

Ev is never silent.

I walked back to my room; a few minutes later, I overhear this conversation from the timeout step:

“God will you please help me please to be brave and not yell at mom again? Please help me. I really really need it. Will you please help me keep my heart nice and clean and sweet. Thank you.”

Them to himself he added (complete with a sad slow head shake): “Oh…this is gonna be hard. Really. Really. Hard.”

A few minutes later we talked about respect again, and Ev apologized for his attitude. He was then off to play but wanted to use his loaded squirt gun in the house.

“No Ev. Squirt guns are for outside use only. I don’t want water everywhere in the house.”

“But, but, but Mo-om!” Ev began explaining with hand motions more animated than those of the taxi driver I met in Rome a few years back, “The Lord and I had a talk earlier. I promised The Lord I will NOT shoot my water gun at anyone. So you don’t have to worry about that one at all!”

20130822-004610.jpg

Whew! I’m so relieved. In that case, Ev, let me rethink the whole loaded squirt gun in the house thing… Um…. No.

About cjpjordan

A poet, a writer, an artist, a thinker, a musician and occasionally a skeptic, when I'm not teaching or traveling, I love to read and write and play the ukelele. I'm loving life with my Little Wonder--his energy and joy for life is contagious. He makes me believe and hope again. I don't want to forget these moments that pass so quickly so I have decided to write them down for posterity and for you to enjoy.
This entry was posted in Funny Stories, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Conversations With God

  1. I just love your blogs!! And Ev through you even though I have never met him 🙂 It really is some time for me to head up that way again 😉

Leave a Reply

